By the 254.ke Newsroom.
The National Transport and Safety Authority (NTSA) has asked motorists to check whether their smart driving licences, vehicle logbooks and reflective number plates are waiting to be collected. In a notice dated Monday, October 12, 2026, the agency said the status check is free, needs no registration and can be done on its online portal. It also warned motorists not to pay brokers for the service.
How do I check if my licence, logbook or number plates are ready?
The NTSA service status portal covers three documents, and each uses a different identifier:
- Smart driving licence: enter your national ID number.
- Logbook: enter the vehicle or motorcycle registration number.
- Reflective number plates: enter the vehicle or motorcycle registration number.
The portal also shows the specific centre where each document should be collected, which the agency says should save motorists unnecessary trips to NTSA offices. “Checking the status of your smart driving licence and number plates is free; do not deal with brokers,” NTSA said.
Is there a deadline to collect uncollected logbooks?
Yes. In a July 14, 2026 statement, NTSA gave motorists five months to collect printed logbooks still held at its offices, which points to December 2026. Reports on that statement do not give an exact day. NTSA said it does not keep printed logbooks for more than six months and that documents left uncollected after the deadline will be disposed of.
Another outlet, Streamlinefeed, reported on October 12 that documents left beyond the deadlines “will be destroyed in accordance with agency policy” and that an owner who misses the window must start a new application, with added cost and delay. That report also says the digital registry is the primary record, and that physical logbooks remain valid proof of ownership until replaced when shown with digital verification records.
Where and how do I collect?
Collection is done at NTSA offices or Huduma Centres, which operate in all 47 counties. NTSA has said logbook collection is free. Take your identification document and, for a logbook, the previous logbook for verification.
Streamlinefeed also reports a courier option for door-to-door delivery for an extra fee. The fee was not stated in the reports reviewed.
| Item | What you need | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Status check (portal) | ID number or registration number | Free |
| Logbook collection | ID and previous logbook | Free, per NTSA |
| Courier delivery | Application through NTSA channels | Extra fee, amount not stated |
What else has NTSA changed recently?
On October 8, NTSA said smart driving licences can now be processed and collected in under two minutes. It has also introduced SMS notifications on vehicle ownership transfers, so applicants can follow progress on their registered phone numbers. The agency has not published how many licences, logbooks or plates are uncollected.
The directive comes as motorists face other running costs. See the latest on fuel prices for October 2026 and earlier coverage of Nairobi’s transport rules. Official information is on the NTSA website.
Frequently asked questions
Does it cost money to check my NTSA licence status?
No. NTSA says the check is free and needs no registration.
What happens if I do not collect my logbook?
NTSA says printed logbooks left after the deadline will be disposed of, and the owner may have to reapply.
Can I use a broker?
NTSA advises against it. It says the checks are free and warns motorists not to deal with brokers.
Who can I call for help?
NTSA has listed 0709 932 300 and 0709 932 000 and the social handles @NTSAKENYA on Facebook and @ntsa_kenya on X.
Sources: NTSA notice of October 12, 2026 as reported by Kenyans.co.ke and Kenya Today; Streamlinefeed (Oct 12, 2026); Nairobi Wire (July 15, 2026).













