By the 254.ke Newsroom
The 2027 WRC Safari Rally Kenya will run from March 18 to 21, 2027, in Naivasha, after the FIA kept the event on its 15-round world championship calendar. President William Ruto confirmed the news on October 8, 2026, and said the rally will be funded, managed and promoted entirely by the private sector from next year.
As of October 2026, the date and venue are settled. What is still unclear is how long Kenya’s new hosting rights run and how much sponsors will pay.
When is the 2027 Safari Rally and where will it be held?
- Dates: March 18 to 21, 2027
- Venue: Naivasha, Nakuru County, Rift Valley
- Season context: 15 rounds, the largest WRC calendar since 2008, with the United States and the United Kingdom (Rally Scotland) added
- Season opener: Rallye Monte-Carlo, January 21 to 24; Rally Sweden follows February 18 to 21
- Season finale: Rally Saudi Arabia, November 25 to 28
Outlets differ on where Kenya falls in the running order. Citizen Digital and The Standard describe it as the third round, while Kenyans.co.ke calls it the fifth. Kenya’s slot comes after Monaco and Sweden on the dates published so far. Rally de Portugal does not appear on the 2027 list.
Who pays for the Safari Rally from 2027?
Ruto first announced the change at the closing ceremony of the 2026 rally on March 15, saying the 2027 event would be “fully funded by the private sector.” He said the move would free up government money for sports development. After the October 8 confirmation, Kenyans.co.ke reported that money previously used to promote the rally will go to school sports and other sporting activities.
The government has not said what the rally has cost in total. The Star reported that promoter fees alone have at times exceeded Sh400 million a year. The same report said the state will keep providing logistical and institutional support, and named KCB Group, SportPesa and Kenya Airways as examples of companies that could come in as sponsors. It did not say any of them had agreed to.
Does Kenya have a long-term hosting deal?
Not one that has been made public. Kenya returned to the WRC calendar in 2021 after a 19-year absence, and its previous agreement with the FIA runs only through 2026. According to Citizen Digital, the government bid for a five-year extension to 2031, but the FIA has not disclosed how long the granted rights last.
That gap matters. A one-year place on the calendar would leave sponsors and Naivasha’s hotels planning one season at a time.
Who won the 2026 Safari Rally?
Toyota’s Takamoto Katsuta and co-driver Aaron Johnston won the 2026 edition, which finished at Hell’s Gate in Naivasha on March 15. It was Katsuta’s first WRC victory. Toyota also took third through Sami Pajari and Marko Salminen. The Japanese manufacturer has now won the last two Safari Rallies; Elfyn Evans and Scott Martin took the 2025 event.
Who is running the event?
In June, Sports Cabinet Secretary Salim Mvurya appointed rally driver Carl Tundo as chief executive of the WRC Safari Rally Project. Ruto’s October 8 statement thanked the Ministry of Sports, that project team, private-sector partners, the FIA and the WRC Promoter.
What does it mean for Naivasha?
Hotels, restaurants and small businesses in Nakuru County report busy rally weeks, The Standard said in March, and Naivasha tourism operators say bookings jump sharply. Ruto said in his October post that every edition “fills our hotels” and carries Kenya’s image to screens worldwide. No outlet has published a verified figure for the rally’s economic impact.
Safari Rally 2027: frequently asked questions
Is the Safari Rally definitely happening in 2027?
Yes. It is on the FIA’s published 2027 calendar for March 18 to 21 in Naivasha, and Ruto has confirmed it.
Will taxpayers still fund it?
The government says no exchequer money will go to promoting the rally from 2027, though it will keep giving logistical and institutional support.
Where will the 2027 rally be based?
Naivasha. The 2026 edition ended at Hell’s Gate, but the 2027 route and service park have not been published.
How long has Kenya secured the Safari Rally for?
The FIA has not disclosed the length of the rights. The government had asked for five years, through 2031.
Related reading on 254.ke: Nyayo Stadium renovation stalls over Sh984M bill before AFCON, Kipchoge wins Melbourne Marathon in course record and Harambee Stars lose to Guinea. For the full calendar, see the official WRC Safari Rally Kenya 2027 page.













